THE ANXIOUS WRITER 🌿 By Helen Redfern
Hiding Under the Desk Podcast by Helen Redfern
#6. How Post Its Encouraged Me To Stop 'Chasing the Sparkly' & Made Me More Productive with Increased Self Belief: Solo Episode.
1
1×
0:00
-16:11

#6. How Post Its Encouraged Me To Stop 'Chasing the Sparkly' & Made Me More Productive with Increased Self Belief: Solo Episode.

Going down the wrong path is frustrating and can lead to self flagellation and reduced confidence. This is how I reduced the chances of that happening with my writing and creativity.
1

Today is a solo episode. I share my experiences of ‘chasing the sparkly’ where I look at other writer’s and creative’s success stories and feel that I should follow their ‘formula’ for success and that I should follow the ‘internet rules’. I’ve been down rabbit holes convinced there is a right way of doing things - only to find this rabbit hole search leads to frustration, exhaustion, a feeling of failure and yes, a little bit of embarrassment.

Inspired by Sarra Cannon’s Kanban board process on her YouTube channel called Heart Breathings I discovered the tiny post it. And that, alongside my writing journal, changed my writing and creative life as I knew it.

The Substack post I refer to is this one: Planning for a Productive October

The Bite-Sized Course is this one: Using Your Journal & Planning for Productivity

And the YouTube video is this one:

If you’d like to sign up to my newsletter go to: helenredfern.substack.com

If you enjoy this episode then do please share to spread the word.

Share

The Red Fern By Helen Redfern is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

1 Comment
THE ANXIOUS WRITER 🌿 By Helen Redfern
Hiding Under the Desk Podcast by Helen Redfern
For those who want to write and create but are held back by fears and a lack of self-belief.