THE ANXIOUS WRITER 🌿 By Helen Redfern
Hiding Under the Desk Podcast by Helen Redfern
#2. From Chronic Non-Finisher to Writing, Uploading & Publishing 31 Articles in One Month. An Interview With Carla Calvert.
6
0:00
-35:47

#2. From Chronic Non-Finisher to Writing, Uploading & Publishing 31 Articles in One Month. An Interview With Carla Calvert.

An interview with writer Carla Calvert about working on shorter writing projects in order to build up self-belief.
6

My Substack address is now helenredfern.substack.com

Well, interviewing writer Carla Calvert was an absolute joy. Carla is one of the original members of The Confident Creative Club and I find her incredibly wise, thoughtful and hugely supportive. As I was editing this podcast I nodded my head in agreement with Carla’s words throughout.

Carla describes herself as a chronic non-finisher with her novel writing projects. But this year something rather magical happened. Despite being utterly terrified, Carla decided to spend some time writing on Medium to feel the achievement that comes from finishing a project.

Why Medium? Because the finished result was so much shorter and quicker to write than a novel.

“Writing on Medium…has given me a freedom from the rules I create for myself.”

I needed a place for my words to land to start with…to push through the fear and the lack of confidence…”

“Because I’ve pressed that publish button thirty-one times on Medium I think I can press that SEND button on an email with my query letter to agents.”

Do listen to Carla’s calm and extremely wise words. And if you’re struggling to finish a big creative project why not try something smaller and shorter to give you that sense of accomplishment. Like Carla, this may lead to increased self-belief and you can carry that with you towards your bigger projects.


You can find Carla’s Medium writing here:

https://medium.com/@carlacalvert

And Carla’s Instagram is here: https://www.instagram.com/authorcarlacalvert


This podcast is brought to you by my Substack, The Red Fern. To subscribe for free and receive monthly newsletters or to become a paid subscriber and receive weekly writing as well as bite-sized courses (the first one is about writing on Medium) then sign up at helenredfern.substack.com/subscribe or by using the button below.

If you enjoyed this episode please consider sharing. I’d be incredibly grateful.

Share

6 Comments
THE ANXIOUS WRITER 🌿 By Helen Redfern
Hiding Under the Desk Podcast by Helen Redfern
For those who want to write and create but are held back by fears and a lack of self-belief.